A Belated Resolution Announcement

20 Jan

I’ve never really made New Year’s Resolutions. I’ve watched everyone I know make them and break them around the third week of January every year. Obviously, I didn’t have faith in myself to do better than that.

I made two resolutions this year. I decided to post them on the internet so I would be accountable for these things. I hate to look stupid, so if I tell people I’m going to do something, I do my best to get it done.

So, here goes.

1. Make choices that will lead to weight loss and health.

2. Post my thoughts and opinions on my personal blog.

The first one is one that almost every American makes every year. Let’s be honest – I’m overweight and that needs to change. The problem is, whenever I think about losing weight, I get hungry. This may mean that I’ve come to rely on food as a comfort in the face of a long-haul problem. That’s got to change. To help me with this, I’ve stocked up on Smart Meals and bought some comfortable sneakers to exercise in.

The second one is actually a big step for me. I’m a journalism major, and I actively try to keep my opinion out of my work. If you have followed me on social media, you may notice that I don’t often express an opinion. I talk about activities and try to be funny, but I don’t really reveal me. This is because I’m afraid my college antics will deny me a job later.

The truth? I really don’t have college antics. I go to Rocky Horror sometimes. That’s the extent of my craziness.

It’s also been a policy of mine to not talk about politics with people I intend to get along with. I’m not a big fan of most politicians, and my ideas are not widely accepted by the two-party system supporters.

For example, I signed up for a peace studies course. The instructor asked us to describe what we think peace is. I have really strong opinions on this. I said peace in society is the right to be left alone.

The instructor said I was freakishly anti-social. Her vision of peace involves everyone agreeing with each other, so there’s no conflict.

Call me crazy, but I don’t think we’re ever going to all agree. As long as we have different values, we will have conflict. I think as long as a person isn’t harming another person, and is a productive tax-paying member of society, we should leave them alone to make their own life decisions. It’s not an anti-social choice, it’s a tolerant choice. I dropped the course.

I have a new internship, and I’ve been a pretty quiet person in the office. I didn’t talk about my love of Rocky Horror and that my roommate and I go see it performed live and I’ve been learning the counter-lines. But my boss friended me on Facebook, and I accepted. She saw my post professing my love for Rocky Horror, and after a brief moment of inner terror when she mentioned it, we bonded. And then, when she told others in the office, I bonded with them, too. So I learned it’s better to have a personality.

I read an article recently that if a woman flaunts her “unattractive” features, it actually makes her more attractive. Apparently, everyone is just looking for someone who’s different than the rest, and all this fitting-in malarkey is hurting our relationships.

So, here’s to me sticking out. Here’s to personality. Here’s to being vastly unattractive at times, and having that be all together more human and likable than self-censorship could ever be.

Welcome to the Andi Enns blog, 3.0.

One Response to “A Belated Resolution Announcement”

  1. Mary Monica January 22, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    Nice post, Andi! I’ve been trying to work on these myself. 🙂 Good luck!

Leave a Reply

